Most of us are familiar with the sinking feeling of hearing a police siren go off behind us, though many of us never consider hiring an attorney to help fight traffic tickets–this is a huge mistake. Please continue reading to learn more about how a competent Morristown traffic violation lawyer can help guide you through the process and combat your ticket at every step. Contact Graves Andrews, LLC today.
Do I Need a Morristown Traffic Violation Lawyer?
Motor vehicle offenses and non-indictable offenses are almost always heard in municipal court. That being said, quite often, people underestimate the seriousness of their charges being heard in municipal court. Municipal court cases should be taken seriously, and should only be handled with the assistance of a knowledgeable Morristown traffic violation lawyer.
Many offenses heard in municipal court, including many motor vehicle tickets, carry substantial fines, penalties, loss of driver’s license, and even incarceration in the county jail. Fortunately, if you are represented by legal counsel, there is a good chance your attorney can resolve your case in a way that is favorable to you. Our attorneys have appeared in numerous municipal courts throughout the State and are intricately familiar with the municipal court system.
Consequences of Speeding in New Jersey
When someone is allegedly caught speeding, the penalties they face will largely depend on the speed at which they were traveling at the time they were stopped. New Jersey has a point system for speeding in place, which is as follows:
- Traveling between 1 and 14 miles per hour over the speed limit: A 2-point violation
- Traveling between 15 and 30 miles per hour over the speed limit: A 4-point violation
- Traveling more than 30 miles per hour over the speed limit: A 5-point violation
You should understand that if you accumulate more than 12 points on your license, there is a very good chance that you will have your license suspended. Further, receiving points on your license will cause your insurance premiums to spike, and you may also have to pay various fines and fees associated with your particular speeding ticket. Our firm can fight to attain a plea bargain, or, in the best cases, have your ticket altogether dropped.
Penalties for Cell Phone Violations in New Jersey
As you most likely know, it is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle while using a cellular device without hands-free capabilities. If you are caught texting while driving or otherwise illegally using a cell phone while operating a motor vehicle, you may face a wide array of penalties. The consequences of cell phone violations in New Jersey are as follows:
- First offense: A $200-$400 fine
- Second offense within 10 years: A $400-$600 fine
- A third or subsequent offense within 10 years: A $600-$800 fine, 3 points on your driver’s license, and a potential 90-day license suspension
The exception to the rule is that those who can prove they were using their phone to report danger (e.g. a building fire or a drunk driver) or a medical emergency to the authorities should not receive a cell phone violation charge.
Penalties for Reckless Driving in New Jersey
Essentially, in New Jersey, you may receive a reckless driving ticket if you were allegedly operating your motor vehicle with willful or wanton disregard of the safety of others. The penalties for a reckless driving charge in New Jersey are severe. For a first reckless driving conviction, you will face up to 60 days in jail, 5 points on your driving record, and a potential $200 fine. For a second reckless driving offense, you may face up to 3 months in jail, 5 points on your driving record, and a potential $500 fine.
Contact a Morristown Traffic Violation Lawyer
Our firm understands how nerve-wracking it can be when it comes time to face a traffic ticket, which is why we are here to do everything in our power to shield you from the ramifications of a guilty verdict. Contact Graves Andrews, LLC today to schedule your initial consultation with our firm.