Morristown DUI Defense Lawyer

New Jersey law cracks down on all those who drive while under the influence, and if you are someone who has recently received a DUI, you must retain the services of an experienced Morristown DUI defense lawyer. Contact Graves Andrews, LLC today to learn more about the potential penalties of a DUI charge in New Jersey and how our firm can help you fight them.

Do I Need a Morristown DUI Defense Lawyer?

As you can imagine, the penalties for a DUI can affect an individual for years into the future, which is why if you’ve been charged with a DUI, you simply cannot afford to proceed without the services of a knowledgeable Morristown criminal defense lawyer who can fight your charges at every turn.

Penalties for a First-Offense DUI in New Jersey

The penalties you face for a first-offense DUI largely depend on your blood alcohol content at the time of your arrest. As you may know, anyone who has a blood alcohol content of .08% or higher will be arrested for a DUI. That being said, the higher the BAC, the more severe the penalties you will face.

The penalties for a first-offense DUI with a BAC between .08% and .10% are as follows:

  • You may lose your driver’s license until the ignition interlock device is installed
  • You will have to install and use the ignition interlock device in your vehicle for three months
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Up to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Up to a $500 fine
  • Up to $33 in court costs
  • $75 for SNSF
  • $50 for VCCO
  • A $125 DWI surcharge
  • A $100 DDEF surcharge

The penalties for a first-offense DUI with a BAC between .10% and .15% are as follows:

  • You may lose your driver’s license until the ignition interlock device is installed
  • You will have to install and use the ignition interlock device for between seven months and one year
  • You may spend up to 30 days in jail
  • Up to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Up to a $500 fine
  • Up to $33 in court costs
  • $75 to the SNSF
  • $50 to the VCCO
  • A $125 DWI surcharge
  • A $100 DDEF surcharge

The penalties for a first-offense DUI with a BAC over .15% are as follows:

  • A six-month license suspension
  • Mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device in your vehicle for up to 15 months after your license is restored
  • Potential jail time
  • Various fines and fees

Penalties for a Second-Offense DUI in New Jersey

For a second-offense DUI in New Jersey, you may face the following consequences:

  • You may lose your driver’s license between one and two years
  • You will have to install and use the ignition interlock device for between two and four years after license reinstatement
  • You may spend between two and 90 days in jail
  • You may have to pay a potential $1,000 fine
  • Up to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • A $125 surcharge
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Education Fund
  • $50 to VCCO
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund

Penalties for a Third or Subsequent DUI in New Jersey

If you are convicted of a third or subsequent DUI offense in New Jersey, you will most likely face the following penalties:

  • An eight-year driver’s license suspension
  • A six-month jail sentence
  • Installation of the ignition interlock device during your license forfeiture and between two and four years after license reinstatement
  • Mandatory participation in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • A $1,000 fine
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • $75 Neighborhood Services Fund
  • $50 to the VCCO
  • A $125 DWI surcharge
  • $100 to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund

Defenses Against DUI Charges

There are a wide variety of defenses that our firm may use to combat your DUI charge. Depending on the circumstances of your arrest, we may use any of the following defenses:

  • You were illegally stopped
  • The officer failed to observe the 20-minute rule
  • There was no probable cause for arrest
  • The officer improperly administered field sobriety tests
  • The officer improperly administered a breathalyzer test
  • The breathalyzer reading was inaccurate or incorrect

These are just some of the most common defenses against DUI charges, and the defense we use will ultimately depend on the specifics of your case. Speak with a Morristown DUI defense lawyer today.

Contact a Morristown DUI Defense Lawyer

The bottom line is that no one should have to fight DUI charges on their own. Our firm is adept at handling various criminal matters, including those involving DUIs, and we are ready to effectively handle yours as well. Contact Graves Andrews, LLC today to schedule your initial consultation with our firm.