When someone commits a crime in New Jersey, they will either be charged with a felony or a disorderly persons offense (New Jersey law does not recognize misdemeanor charges). Though both crimes can warrant serious penalties that can impact a person for a long time, felonies are typically reserved for more serious crimes. However, you should understand that regardless of whether you were charged with a felony or a disorderly persons offense, it is in your best interests to retain the services of a competent Morristown criminal defense lawyer who can fight for your rights, every step of the way. Here are some of the questions you may have:
What are the penalties for felony charges in New Jersey?
A person may receive a felony charge for various crimes. As you may know, felonies are broken down into degrees based on their severity. First-degree felonies are considered the harshest, and from there, they are broken down into second, third, and fourth degrees. The penalties for felony charges in New Jersey are as follows:
- First-degree felonies: For a first-degree felony, you can expect to face between 10 years and life in prison, as well as a potential $200,000 fine.
- Second-degree felonies: A second-degree felony may entail anywhere between five and 10 years of incarceration, as well as a potential $150,000 fine.
- Third-degree felonies: A third-degree felony charge in New Jersey typically entails anywhere between three and five years of incarceration, as well as a potential $15,000 fine.
- Fourth-degree felonies: For a fourth-degree felony, you will most likely face up to 18 months of incarceration and a potential $10,000 fine.
What are the penalties for disorderly persons offenses in New Jersey?
If you are found guilty of a disorderly persons offense, you can still expect to face very serious penalties. Depending on whether you receive a disorderly persons offense or a petty disorderly persons offense (such as disorderly conduct), you may face the following consequences:
- Disorderly persons offense: Up to six months of incarceration and a potential $1,000 fine.
- Petty disorderly persons offense: Up to 30 days of incarceration and a potential $500 fine.
Whether you are facing felony charges or a disorderly persons offense, you need competent legal representation on your side. Our firm is here to help fight your charges at every turn.
Contact Our Experienced New Jersey Firm
Graves Andrews, LLC is an experienced Morris County family law & criminal defense law firm serving all of New Jersey. Contact Graves Andrews, LLC to schedule an initial consultation to learn more about our services and how we can assist you. Reach out to our experienced attorneys today to get started.