Although robbery and burglary are oftentimes used interchangeably, they are two entirely different offenses. And as such, if you are charged with either offense, you may be facing varying penalties under New Jersey law. Follow along to learn the difference between the two and how a proficient Morristown criminal defense lawyer at Graves Andrews, LLC can work on your behalf to reduce or altogether eliminate the charges placed against you.
How does the state of New Jersey define robbery?
According to New Jersey law, robbery is committing the act of theft while using force, violence, or the threat of force or violence. For example, you would be charged with robbery if you instilled fear in a victim by threatening violence to forcibly steal their property.
What are the potential penalties for committing a robbery?
In the state of New Jersey, robbery is considered a crime of the second degree. With this, you may be facing a prison sentence of up to 10 years and a hefty fine of $150,000.
Notably, a robbery charge can be upgraded to a crime of the first degree if you attempt to kill another party, inflict harm or attempt to inflict harm to another party, and/or you are equipped with a deadly weapon. With this, you may be facing a prison sentence of up to 20 years and otherwise hefty fines.
You must be aware that with your robbery charge, you are required to serve at least 85 percent of the sentence the New Jersey court ruled before gaining eligibility for parole. This is according to the No Early Release Act of New Jersey.
How does the state of New Jersey define burglary?
On the other hand, burglary is entering a building and remaining unlawfully inside or on the property with the intent of committing a crime. Important notes are that it is possible to commit a burglary without breaking and entering and that it is possible to commit burglary without committing theft.
What are the potential penalties for committing a burglary?
In the state of New Jersey, burglary is considered a third-degree felony. With this, you may be facing a prison sentence of up to 5 years and a hefty fine of up to $10,000.
Notably, a burglary can be upgraded to an aggravated burglary if you imposed or threatened to impose bodily injury on the victim while committing the act. With this, you may be facing a prison sentence of up to 10 years in prison and a hefty fine of up to $150,000.
With all that being said, if you are facing robbery or burglary charges in the state of New Jersey, you must retain the services of one of our talented attorneys as soon as you can.
Contact Our Experienced New Jersey Firm
Contact Graves Andrews, LLC to schedule an initial consultation with our experienced Morris County family law attorneys to learn more about our services and how we can assist you.