With the state of New Jersey taking driving while intoxicated (DWI) as a serious offense, there is a wide breadth of penalties that are associated with it. Namely, you may end up losing your car, and even your driver’s license. Follow along to find out whether you will lose your car and license if you get a DWI and how a proficient Morristown criminal defense lawyer at Graves Andrews, LLC, can work to reduce or altogether eliminate these charges.
Can I lose my car after a DWI in the state of New Jersey?
Say, for instance, that a law enforcement officer pulls you over on suspicion of drunk or drugged driving. The officer will run several tests to confirm or rule out their suspicions, one of them being a breathalyzer test. The breathalyzer test will measure your blood-alcohol content level, and if it is at 0.08 percent or more, then you will be accused of a DWI.
With that being said, if you were arrested because you refused to submit to a breathalyzer test, or if you otherwise were found to be driving drunk or drugged, then your car will likely be impounded by the law enforcement officer. You will be able to reclaim your car after a 12-hour impoundment period. With this, you will likely have to pay a fee.
Can I lose my license after a DWI in the state of New Jersey?
On top of losing your car, you have the potential to lose your license after being charged with a DWI in the state of New Jersey. At the very least, you may be ordered by the New Jersey criminal law court to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your car. The specific penalties will depend on whether this is your first, second, or third offense, and they read as follows:
- First-offense DWI:
- A suspended license for up to one year.
- Installation of an IID in your vehicle for anywhere between three to six months.
- Second-offense DWI:
- A suspended license for up to two years.
- Installation of an IID in your vehicle for up to two years.
- Third-offense DWI:
- A suspended license for up to 10 years.
- Installation of an IID in your vehicle indefinitely.
As you may likely figure, losing your car and your license can have a major impact on your day-to-day life. For example, your ability to commute to work, visit your children, etc. will become all the more difficult. This is not to mention the permanent criminal record that will come with your DWI conviction.
This is why you require a strong legal strategy to defend against these accusations placed against you. For this, we recommend that you reach out to a talented Morristown criminal defense lawyer as soon as you possibly can.