It is a tradition for many to spend the night before Thanksgiving drinking with friends at their hometown’s trusty bar. With this in mind, it is important to understand that this date also marks a heightened risk of drunk driving incidents and DUIs in New Jersey. To learn more about the consequences of a Thanksgiving Eve DUI, continue reading and reach out to our experienced New Jersey DUI attorney.
What are the penalties for a first-offense DUI in New Jersey?
If you have been pulled over for driving under the influence of alcohol for the first time this Thanksgiving Eve with a blood alcohol content between .08% and .09%, you may face the following charges:
- A 30-day license suspension
- A $500 fine
- An ignition interlock device in your vehicle for between 3 and 6 months, installed at your own cost
- Up to 48 hours at the New Jersey IDRC
- Jail time for up to 30 days
What will happen if I am arrested with a BAC over .10% in New Jersey?
If you have been pulled over for drunk driving with a BAC of .10% or higher, you can expect to face even higher consequences and charges. The penalties you may face include the following:
- Losing your license for up to 45 days
- Spending up to 30 days in jail
- Fines between $250-$500
- 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)
- You will have to install and use the ignition interlock device for between 6 months and 1 year, at your own cost
What will happen if am under the age of 21 and am charged with a DUI in New Jersey?
New Jersey does not take underage DUIs lightly. The state has a very strict policy for underage DUIs. If someone is caught driving with .01% BAC, they will face a DUI charge including the following consequences:
- Between 15-30 days of community service
- A license suspension of up to 90 days
- Mandatory participation in the IDRC
- Additional fines and fees
If you are facing any of the above charges after a night out on Thanksgiving Eve, you must know that the charges you face will be severe. Drinking and driving is taken very seriously in New Jersey, especially on a night like this. It is necessary for you to retain the services of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney to assist you with these charges. To learn omer about our firm and how we can assist you, give our firm a call to schedule your initial consultation.
Contact Our Experienced New Jersey Firm
Graves Andrews, LLC is an experienced Morris County family law & criminal defense law firm serving all of New Jersey. Contact Graves Andrews, LLC to schedule an initial consultation to learn more about our services and how we can assist you. Reach out to our experienced attorneys today to get started.