The state of New Jersey considers a DWI a serious criminal offense. And with this, a potential consequence is that you may lose your driving privileges. With a revoked license, your life can be impacted in major ways, including your ability to go to work or visit your children. If you find yourself in this situation, read on to learn your eligibility for a conditional license and how a seasoned Morristown criminal defense lawyer at Graves Andrews, LLC can work to defend against the penalties you are facing.
Will I lose my license after a DWI offense in the state of New Jersey?
By New Jersey law, you will likely lose your license after being charged with a DWI offense. The period in which you will have a suspended license will depend on the severity of your offense. Examples read as follows:
- First-offense DWI: if your blood-alcohol content (BAC) is between 0.08 percent to 0.15 percent, you will lose your license until you install the ignition interlock device in your vehicle, which must be done at your own cost. If your BAC is higher than 0.15 percent, you will lose your license for anywhere between four to six months.
- Second-offense DWI: you will lose your license for up to two years.
- Third-offense DWI: you will lose your license for up to 10 years.
How is a conditional license defined?
In some states, you may be able to obtain a conditional license after a DWI offense. This is so long as you can prove that you will face extreme hardship with losing your license.
For example, if you live far from work and there is no public transportation available, you will be restricted from making a living. This will be considered an extreme hardship, so you may be granted this temporary license to drive to and from work.
It is important to note that a conditional license comes with strict regulations and it cannot be used to replace a standard driver’s license.
Is it possible to get a conditional license in the state of New Jersey?
Since the state of New Jersey takes DWI offenses very seriously, the law does not give the option of receiving a conditional license. With that said, if you are caught driving during the time your license is suspended, you may face incarceration.
This is why we recommend that you retain the services of one of our attorneys as soon as possible. Our competent will serve as your advocate and work to reduce or altogether eliminate the license suspension penalties placed against you.
Contact Our Experienced New Jersey Firm
Contact Graves Andrews, LLC to schedule an initial consultation with our experienced Morris County family law attorneys to learn more about our services and how we can assist you.